lifestyle

The Dam Series: Duty-free haul x Balmain Haircare

Welcome to the second post of The Dam Series!

I just wanted to share some bits I purchased at the airport from Mac and Chanel. I would have purchased more however sadly I only had hand luggage on my travels so the liquid allowance was limited so I had to control myself! So here’s what I bought and a little bit about them…

image

(from the front, clockwise)

MAC Huggable Glass in Sweet Persuasion – I loved the look of the colour in the bottle and looks just as great on. It’s seriously glossy and plumps the lips but not too sticky which is a massive plus point for me. The colours is pretty much translucent on my lips but adds a nice beige tone to them.

Rating: **** (could be stronger in colour)

Soleil Tan De Chanel Sheer Illuminating Fluid in ‘Sunkissed’ – I love this product, I’ve been wanting to get my hands on it for ages. It can be mixed with foundation or worn on it’s own as a highlighter, it gives you such a beautiful glow to the skin, and doesn’t just it on the skin. Quite similar to MAC lustre drops, but I prefer the consistency and shade of the Soleil.

Reating: *****

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour Stick in Blush No.20 – This shade is perfect for me. It’s between a blush and bronzer on my skin which adds real warmth to my face. My only issue with this product is that it’s cream based and didn’t sit that well on my face and took a while to build up; I might try it without foundation to see if it sits better, but like I said the colour is great!

Rating: ***+ (Not quite a four atm)

MAC Prep and Prime Fix+ Spray (travel sized) – Not much to say about the Fix+ spray I think some people can’t live without it and for some people it’s a bit hit-n-miss. For me I do like to have it in my makeup bag to spritz my beauty blender to do my foundation, but apart from that I don’t really use it that much and prefer the SmashBox Photofinishing water I’ve used previously for setting my makeup.

Rating: ***

And lastly who knew Balmain did hair products?! I was in a department store in Amsterdam and came across their grand, white, hair counter. Of course their packaging matches their brand being very elegant and modern (I’m such a sucker for packaging). As I didn’t know anything about the products I had a little try around with the esters and decided to go for a travel set so I could try them out before committing to the full size products. The £18 (converted from euros) contained their: Hair Perfume, Argan Moisturing Elxir and Texturising Salt Spray. I was also kindly given some samples of the Session Spray Strong and more Texturising Salt Spray to try out, I’ll let you know what I think of them soon! Here’s the website for the Balmain haircare range if you want to find out more… http://www.balmainhair.com/ukwebshop/Products/haircouture.

h1h2h3h4

 

Hope you found this useful!

Love xoxo

Next up on The Dam Series: My Top Tips When Visiting Amsterdam

Leave a Reply

